You are here
Home > ITSM and ITIL > List of ITIL V3 (2011) Processes and Functions

List of ITIL V3 (2011) Processes and Functions

Follow by Email13k

I get swarmed with questions on how many processes exist in ITIL in total and which processes lie in which lifecycle phase. To be honest, I miss and mix up a few processes in between. I kept a cheat sheet that I use for quick reference. I believe in trusting in note keeping rather than my memory in things that come in lists.

Here are all the processes and functions that exist in ITIL V3 2011 version.

Service Strategy

Strategy management for IT Services
Service Portfolio management
Demand management
Financial Management
Business relationship management

Service Design

Design coordination
Service level management
Availability management
Capacity management
Supplier management
Information security management
Service catalog management
IT service continuity management

Service Transition

Change management
Release and deployment management
Knowledge management
Transition planning and support
Change Evaluation
Service validation and testing
Service asset and configuration management

Service Operations

Incident management
Problem management
Event management
Request fulfillment management
Access management

Continual Service Improvement

7 Step Improvement Process


Service Desk
Technical Management
Application Management
Operations Management
– IT Operations control
– Facility management

Every time I look at this list, I begin to wonder if I have left out some processes in the list. I have checked and I don’t believe so. If I have, do comment.

Follow by Email13k
Abhinav Kaiser
Abhinav Kaiser is an author and a management consultant. He has authored Reinventing ITIL in the Age of DevOps, Become ITIL Foundation Certified in 7 Days and Workshop in a Box: Communication for IT Professionals. He works as an agile/devops coach in one of the top consulting firms. He advises businesses, organizations and enterprises in the areas of DevOps, IT service management and agile project management frameworks.

8 thoughts on “List of ITIL V3 (2011) Processes and Functions

  1. Hello sir,

    Thanks for all of your valuable posts.

    Can these two might be included in the processes.

    Service Transition: Change Evaluation
    CSI: 7 Steps for Improvement

    Now they become 26 processes.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.