Answer Key for Become ITIL Foundation Certified in 7 Days Exercises

I have included several exercises throughout my book Become ITIL Foundation Certified in 7 Days. However, the answers to these exercises are not in the book, but are offered as a PDF download from my publisher’s website. I find it a little too tedious to locate as it is hosted on a github server. I am publishing all the answers to the exercises in my book in this post. Let me know if you have any questions on the answer choices, or the question itself.

Chapter 1

1. D [Tools are not defined within a process. But rather, a tool that matches the process characteristics is chosen after the process has been finalized.]

2. B [ITIL is based on the best practices from the IT service management industry.]

3. C [Internal customer and the service provider are part of the same organization]

4. A [Refer to section 1.6]

5. C [Just the opposite – processes are non-prescriptive]

Chapter 2

1. D [It is the other way around. Utility is fit for purpose and warranty is fit for use.]

2. D [Type 1 service provider services individual business units.]

3. A [Cabling is an enabling/supporting service that is required for the core service to deliver.]

4. A [Refer to section 1.6]

5. C [SLA is a binding agreement between a customer and a service provider.]

Chapter 3

1. C [Continual Service Operations phase can be called upon from any of the phases]

2. C [Service Design lifecycle phase provides the answers to how an IT service will be realized]

3. A [The process manager ensures that all process activities are adhered to; while the process owner is accountable for the design and the ownership]

4. B [Accountability always remains with a single role]

5. A [Service Transition phase implements IT services]

Chapter 4

1. C [Processes are not one of the Ps of service strategy]

2. A [Value is always defined from the customer’s viewpoint]

3. B [Service portfolio consists of service pipeline, service catalog and retired services]

4. A [Refer to section 4.8.2]

5. B [Managing SLAs is the accountability of the service level management process, which is discussed in chapter 5 – Service Design]

Chapter 5

1. A [Refer to section 5.2]

2. A [Processes are designed not only for the service design phase, but for all the phases]

3. B [Output of service design phase is a service design package]

4. D

5. B [Service catalog keeps track of all live services, including all aspects of services]

6. B [Knowledge management database is not a subset of the service design package]

7. C [22 days X 12 hours a day = 264 hours]

8. D [Refer section]

9. B [Suppliers are always external; so there is no term called external suppliers]

10. D [Refer to section]

Chapter 6

1. A [Change management ensures that the approvals are obtained, and authorization granted for the change to proceed. Release and Deployment Management is accountable for building and implementing changes, after change management approval and authorization are obtained.

2. B [Service transition is responsible for implementing services]

3. A [Any changes to CIs could be termed as changes]

4. D [Big bang approach is a release management methodology involving releasing release packages to all target end points at the same time]

5. D [Refer 6.4.3]

6. A [Knowledge management helps making sound decisions and supports sharing of information and knowledge]

7. A [Review and Close are normally handled by the change management process]

8. A [CMS is a subset of KMDB]

9. A [Refer]

10. A [Refer 6.4.5]

Chapter 7

1. D [Incident is disruption to a service and a problem is the underlying cause of an incident]

2. D [Refer 7.1]

3. A [Refer]

4. B [When the root cause of incidents is known, but not permanently resolved, they are termed as known errors]

5. C [A service request could be seen as an extension of a standard change, where requests are pre-approved]

6. C [Requests are pre-approved, and the list of service requests are published to the user community]

7. C [Incidents and problems have their own space in ITIL. Either one of them don’t get converted into another]

8. B [Refer]

9. B [Refer]

10. A [All incidents must be logged]

Chapter 8

1. A [Deming’s cycle brings in constant improves and can iterate any number of times]

2. C [Refer 8.3]

3. C [Refer 8.6]

4. B [This is from the CSI approach]

5. A [KPIs are derived after identifying CSFs]

Related posts

Different Roles in ITIL Service Desk Management

Abhinav Kaiser

List of ITIL V3 (2011) Processes and Functions

Abhinav Kaiser

Why are DevOps and ITIL not on Opposing Sides

Abhinav Kaiser

Reinventing ITIL in the Age of DevOps

Abhinav Kaiser

What is Process?

Abhinav Kaiser

Software License Management Explained

Abhinav Kaiser


Anon November 20, 2017 at 8:56 PM

Chapter 3, Qn 1 – should be B.

Anon November 20, 2017 at 10:47 PM

Also, Chapter 5, Qn 10 – should either be A or C, but it cannot be D. The answer is A according to your book, although most people will answer C due to prior training and experience in the industry.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.